Hakka Village ~ Bukit Serdang, Seri Kembangan

This is a backdated entry copied from my livejournal

EDIT: 24/01/2011: HAKKA VILLAGE IS NO LONGER OPENED. I’m not exactly sure what happened but it’s no longer in operation. Maybe it was the awful food 😛

Planned to go to Hoi Tong with my family but when we arrived at almost 8pm, it was full to the brim o_o There was even a group of people standing around WAITING for seats. Yikes, now that was scary.

Decided to go further downhill to eat at Hakka Village and with that, I bring you this review.

Address : 1665, Jalan Kampung Aman, 43300, Seri Kembangan, Selangor
Contact No : 012-284 7299

First dish was the Hakka ‘Pun Choi’ which means they ‘campak everything into one pot and cook them together’. Apparently, this is Hakka Village’s signature dish. And honestly? I’m disappointed.

This lousy photo doesn’t even sum up my disappointment. For a RM25 dish, there was… chicken feet, ‘fu chok’, crabsticks, some chinese mushroom, lots of garlic (Mum kept picking them outta the pot), 4 tiny pacific clams (which I didn’t even eat one), few slices of fatty fatty fatty pork! and… hmmm I don’t know what else was inside there… it was rather bland for my taste too. Dad kept dipping food into his soya sauce lol.

Next 2 dishes were not too bad… Marmite Chicken and Fried Lotus Root & Celery

The Marmite Chicken was the only thing that kept me happy lol. The fried lotus root & celery was abit oily. I had to bite my spoon to slide the food off it so that I won’t get the oil that had dripped to the bottom of the spoon.

Next dish was Pork Ligament and Sea Cucumber. I didn’t eat this dish but I did taste the sauce. Still a bit bland. Maybe its just the manner food are cooked here…

And lastly, the heart attack:

I can’t believe my Sea Coconut drink cost more than my bro’s Coke. Yikes.

Lesson learned. I’m never coming back!

Leave a Reply

