Molten Lava [Revisit] ~ 1 Utama

After Jaslyn did a macaron review for me here, we ended up here for lunch and churros.

I’ve passed by this cafe quite a number of times when I was at 1-Utama and my gosh, I’ve never seemed to notice it! It’s actually directly opposite Daiso and placed in between Shihlin Taiwan Street Snacks and a porridge stall. How did I not notice this place before? My goodness, I’m in disbelief.

Especially when there’s a whole glass shelf of MACARONS on display.

As I said, we were here for lunch and it was rather disappointing when we found out that Set Lunches are not available on weekends =( Oh well, one dish each and one filled churros then๐Ÿ˜€

Churros, sometimes referred to as a Spanish doughnut, are fried-dough pastry-based snacks, sometimes made from potato dough, that originated in Spain. They are also popular in Latin America, France, Portugal, Morocco, the United States, Australia, and Spanish-speaking Caribbean islands. There are two types of churros in Spain. One is thin (and usually knotted) and the other, especially popular in Madrid, is long and thick (porra). They both are normally eaten for breakfast dipped in hot chocolate. ~quoted from wikipedia.org

The one we had was a dulche de leche filled one (RM4.50 each). And I would say it was really good๐Ÿ˜€ Crispy on the outside, soft and warm on the inside. The filled churros are prepared on the spot. There’s an interesting looking contraption at the counter (which I didn’t photograph) which drops the churros straight into sizzling, hot oil before being scooped up, plated and covered with powdered sugar.

Jaslyn had Tom Yam Fried Rice (RM7.90). It was good but her only complaints were the tomatoes and the chicken pieces being too large for her to chew on but that’s a personal preference =) Taste-wise, it was good for cafe standard.

I had Kung Po Chicken Rice (RM7.90). It tasted alright but the rice was rather dry. Since we weren’t having drinks, it was a little hard to swallow. And a little stingy with sauce and chicken. I like dousing my food with sauce from whatever side dish I’m having.

I decided to bring back 6 little macarons (RM3 each) to my family and they were gone within minutes. My family knows my obsession with macarons. To the extent that my mum actually bought me a box when she went shopping at Sri Hartamas haha. But honestly, it’s to their advantage because I keep bringing them back home for them as well haha!

I got Orange Chocolate, Cappuccino, Salted Caramel, Passionfruit, Black Sesame and Hazelnut Praline. They were all good and worth my RM3. They crumbled upon impact (of teeth biting them in half) and the filling was generous and yummy. I personally loved the salted caramel flavor.

Will definitely come back for their filled churros – the normal ones with chocolate sauce are not as good according to Jaslyn in this post and their macarons!! โ™ฅ

3 thoughts on “Molten Lava [Revisit] ~ 1 Utama

  1. Oh didn’t know they had macarons there as well. If you love macarons, you should try Natalie’s Gourmet Studio in Solaris Dutamas. imho, best macaron in klang valley.

    • Neither did I till my friend told me๐Ÿ˜€ Yes, I’ve tried Natalie’s – received them as a birthday present and yes, they are indeed the best! Just can’t make the effort to drive all the way there but hopefully I’ll get to do a ‘macaron tour’ real soon tee hee!๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

