Super Kitchen Chilli Pan Mee ~ SS2

Evidently my favorite Kin Kin Chilli Pan Mee has contenders – one of the heavyweights is Super Kitchen. So what do you do when your favorite has a contender? Try the rival.

I know that sentence came out wrong but it just means we tried Super Kitchen’s chilli pan mee.

Review 003

Super Kitchen has comfortable, air-conditioned premises. Also, no need to share tables and food is relatively fast.

Review 004

Their star of the show looks very similar to my favorite.

Review 013

Super Kitchen’s condiments are nicely separated to show you what they’re feeding you. Do note that their poached egg looks overcooked in this photo, the edges are too well done.

The pan mee here hasĀ more condiments. However their noodles are less bouncy, more floury and lacking an ‘oomph’ that I get from Kin Kin.

TheirĀ sayur manisĀ  was slightly overcooked so you end up with a rubbery texture instead of the well cooked slippery texture. No complaints about their soup.

Review 019

The chilli here isĀ alright, it’s as spicy as Kin Kin’s (or so I thought) but comparingĀ this photo and theĀ photo at Kin Kin’s, I actually put more chilli in this bowl which means it’s less spicy. The slightly harderĀ egg white wasĀ less runny and it doesn’t cling as well to the noodles hence the chunks you see in the above photo.

I understand that other reviews that I have attached to this post all shines upon Super Kitchen very brightly but it is not as goodĀ compared to Kin Kin,Ā in my opinion. I would admit thatĀ this is second best and if I were in an area very far from Kin Kin but Super Kitchen is around the corner, I might just pop by Super Kitchen.

Review 026

I decided to try theirĀ sui kowĀ –Ā I regretted that decision. As the photo shows, the skin was too thick. The filling was too heavily peppered as well.

One important thing to note about this branch – the entire branch from the cashier to the kitchen staff are allĀ foreigners. Not a single local, not even a supervisor. This was quite the tick-off.

Super Kitchen has many branches in many places as stated below but Kin Kin will still be my first choice when it comes to chilli pan mee.

Locations:Ā http://www.chillipanmee.com/our-locations/

Reviews can be found at Motormouth from Ipoh, Drops of ContentmentĀ and Rebecca Saw

Leave a Reply

